June primary

Cheat Sheet for the June 5 California Election

Responsible Citizen 2018

Edit as of May 29: It turns out not all ballots are the same and the bubble numbers aren’t matching up for everyone, so I’ve removed them from the tables below. You’ll have to search for the candidates by name on your ballot.

A friend of mine who’s overwhelmed by making ends meet and mommyhood asked me if I could tell her how to vote in the upcoming primary. Given how non-transparent electoral politics are, I assume she’s not the only one who could use a hand. So, I spent most of my Sunday figuring out which bubbles to fill in so that you don’t have to! (I highly recommend Ballotpedia.org to help sort through it all.) See my recommendations below. 

Remember that voicing your opinion at the voting booth is only one way of making societal change. In these trying times, we need much more than that. That said, happy voting, responsible citizen!   

Office  Person
Governor Gavin Newsom
Lt Governor Eleni Kounalakis
Secretary of State Alex Padilla
Controller Betty Yee
Treasurer Fiona Ma
Attorney General Xavier Becerra
Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara
Member of State Board of Equalization: 3rd District Cheryl Turner
US Senator Dianne Feinstein
US Representative Grace Napolitano
State Senator Mike Eng
Member of State Assembly Blanca Rubio
Judge of Superior Court: Office  No. 4 A. Veronica Sauceda
Judge: Office No. 16 Patricia (Patti) Hunter
Judge: Office No. 20 Wendy Segall
Judge: Office No. 60 Tony Cho
Judge: Office No. 63 Malcolm Mackey
Judge: Office No. 67 Maria Lucy Armendariz
Judge: Office No. 71 Danielle Gibbons
Judge: Office No. 113 Javier Perez
Judge: Office No. 118 David Diamond
Judge: Office No. 126 Rene Caldwell Gilbertson
Judge: Office No. 146 Armando Duran
Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond
Assessor Jeffrey Prang
Sheriff Alex Villanueva
Prop Yes or No
68 Yes
69 Yes
70 No
71 Yes
72 Yes